Comacchio has preserved its lagoon town characteristics, criss-crossed by its waters which, at one point, encircle it as in past times.
The Trepponti bridge is the town's symbol. Built in 1638 it is the meeting point of the navigation canal Pallotta and the town centre.
The historical town centre can be visited aboard local boats at no charge.
Palazzo Bellini, built in the nineteenth-century by the nobility, houses a Gallery of modern art. The fish market is picturesque with its local produce for sale.